Level III charging a Leaf

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JimK

I am an electrical engineer looking for information on Nissan’s level III quick charge capability. I believe they use a TEPCO connector and the CHAdeMO communication protocol but can not confirm this. I’m also looking for technical information/specifications on the communication protocol between the EV and the charging station. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

JimK

JimK said:
I am an electrical engineer looking for information on Nissan’s level III quick charge capability. I believe they use a TEPCO connector and the CHAdeMO communication protocol but can not confirm this. I’m also looking for technical information/specifications on the communication protocol between the EV and the charging station. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

JimK
Yes, 2011 LEAF uses TEPCO and CHAdeMO. Check the documents sticky thread for links or PM AndyH.

It appears that CHAdeMO uses CAN-bus for signaling:

From http://chademo.com/indexa.html:
The CHAdeMO quick charger design has a controller that receives EV commands via a CAN bus, and the quick charger sets the current to meet the EV’s command value. Via this mechanism, optimal and fast charging becomes possible in response to battery performance and the usage environment.
I'd guess, though, that you'd have to pay to become a CHAdeMO member to find out the actual CAN-bus message formats :(

I wonder if the CHAdeMO messages are on the OBD-II port too? If so, then you should be able to see the CHAdeMO messages on your ScanGauge :)

If not, I suppose you could get male and female CHAdeMO connectors and build an "extension cord" so you could snoop on CHAdeMO's private CAN-bus. :shock:

It looks like the CHAdeMO Association has "Observer" membership that doesn't have to pay dues: