7,500 Tax Incentive Carry Over

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MatimalND

I asked my tax man and he says that the $7,500 tax incentive carries overs to the next year if you don't have a high enough tax liability. I just wanted to check with this forum before I pulled the trigger. I would get back $5,000 the first year then the remaining $2,500 the second year.

I am leaning towards buying a 2012 SV since with the $8,500 dealer rebate + $7,500 tax credit I would owe only $11,000 on the car after 3 years if I factor in what my lease payments would be over the 3 years. If I can't get the full tax incentive then this deal isn't as sweet.

Here is the deal offered by the dealer.

$0 down $240 a month on the SV $17,000 Residual. ($9,360 lease payments)

$25,500 + License & Title cash deal.

Thoughts opinions would be appreciated.

I am not a tax expert by any means, but I think you need a new tax person. I am quite certain the tax credit has no provisions for carry over.

But, if you are leasing, Nissan gets the tax credit and should pass it on to you, regardless of your income level.

MatimalND said:
I asked my tax man and he says that the $7,500 tax incentive carries overs to the next year if you don't have a high enough tax liability. I just wanted to check with this forum before I pulled the trigger. I would get back $5,000 the first year then the remaining $2,500 the second year.

I believe your tax man is incorrect. From the instructions for form 8936:

Line 23
If you cannot use part of the personal portion of the credit because of the tax liability limit, the unused credit is lost. The unused personal portion of the credit cannot be carried back or forward to other tax years.