ProPilot and Driver assist for the elderly

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goldbrick

Could someone with ProPilot+ tell me if they think it would help elderly folks much? My dad is 85 and loves his 2013 SV so much he is thinking of getting a new Leaf. The only real advantage for his usage IMHO would be the ProPilot feature on the newer cars but I have no experience with it. I know it isn't 'self-driving' but he's still quite healthy and while he doesn't need it now, I thought it could be a good safety feature in the future. Any input is welcome and TIA.

goldbrick said:
Could someone with ProPilot+ tell me if they think it would help elderly folks much? My dad is 85 and loves his 2013 SV so much he is thinking of getting a new Leaf. The only real advantage for his usage IMHO would be the ProPilot feature on the newer cars but I have no experience with it. I know it isn't 'self-driving' but he's still quite healthy and while he doesn't need it now, I thought it could be a good safety feature in the future. Any input is welcome and TIA.
ProPilot is like an advanced cruise control. If your dad doesn't use cruise control, he probably won't use ProPilot. It doesn't activate by itself, so you have to activate it each time you want to use it and you have to set the speed just like activating cruise control. This is a good video about ProPilot:
https://youtu.be/zNkdMAygyDM

I think Nissan's Safety Shield 360 is probably going to be better for him:
https://www.nissanusa.com/safety-shield.html

Thanks Triggerhappy007 ! Yes, you are right that Safety Shield is what I was thinking of. Nice to know it is standard on all trim levels on the 2020 Leaf. If that is available without the tech package that's a big plus.