General Charging Questions (looking also for advice)

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shaka

New LEAF owner (took delivery <2 weeks ago and the car has <300 miles on it thus far). Will be having my Schneider home 240v charger installed this weekend by a friend (who is an electrician by trade, so a nice side-job for him). My questions are hopefully rather simple, although one of them might come to be that of opinion..

Question #1
If you have a charge timer set for 80% ... assuming for a moment you have it set for 12-to-12 (so it "could" start right away) -- does it auto-detect that the car is over 80% and doesn't charge? I ask because this is technically my wife's car so if we decide to only charge to 80%, I'd still like her to be in habit of plugging car in 24/7 when she gets home. So I want to make sure it knows "hey you plugged in but you're at 83% so we don't need to charge, but thanks for plugging in anyhow" ... yes?

Question #2
We leased the car for 39 months at 1,000 miles per month. Our usual drive round-trip to work/home is 25 miles (we commute together). Evening driving for MOST days will be such that 80% charge may suffice, although some evenings/weekends we might want 100%. From what I've read on these forums, it sounds like we might see 20% loss of battery capacity after 3-years -- is that based on 80% charging or 100% charging? Better yet, a sub-question of this is ... being leased, with NO plans to buy car at end of lease ... should we even bother doing the 80% charging? (we don't get lesser electric rates at night, so thus far we've been doing 100% charging with no timers set -- and I'm trying to determine if an 80% timer with a morning end-time even makes sense for us)....

TIA for any help/replies/thoughts.... I can add more details if anyone needs ....