Used 12 bar 2011 LEAF - Raleigh to Tampa - tips?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sklancha

This is my first time on this forum, and I have to say it has been quite informative and helpful. I just bought a 2011 Leaf SL with only 1,800 miles on it, and plan on driving up to North Carolina this weekend to pick it up. I am renting a car to go up, and my sense of adventure is leaning towards driving the Leaf back home (approximately 700 miles). Baptism by fire, eh?

Unfortunately the dealership is very unfamiliar with the Leaf, which kind of leaves me much less prepared than I hoped for. My primary vehicle is a Tesla, so I am not a complete newbie to the EV world- just not all that familiar with Nissan... or the Leaf. I used information provided in this forum to get some baseline information:

The battery life bar is showing all 12 bars
It has the winter package (heated seats/steering wheel)
It has the high speed (?ChaDeMo) charging ability
We typically use a very limited amount of heat or A/C (prefer using heated seats, and house AC is set to turn on when it gets over 79 degrees)

I am a pretty efficient driver in the Tesla (9 months and almost 29K), with an all time average of 293 wh/mile- which I think calculates to 3.4 m/kw. In my last road trip to Memphis TN (1700 miles round trip) I was very intentional on my efficiency, and managed 245 wh/mile -or 4.08 miles/kwh. I've been able to get 300 miles out of a single charge with rural driving, and (a personal best of) 297 miles (Decatur GA to Lake City FL) of highway driving.

My initial albeit limited information on the Leaf, suggested that I should be able to drive about 100 miles between charges, but now I am not so sure.... the thought of spending that money renting and ICE and hauling the Leaf home is so much less appealing at this time.