When will 2017 LEAF arrive in Colorado?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cbdh19

I've been driving a 2014 Nissan LEAF -- which I leased for 2 years -- for the past 23 months.

During that time, I've gone through a divorce and lost the gas car in our garage to my now ex-wife.

I've made do with 84 EPA miles of range (usually I get significantly more than that, except in Denver winters), but I've also run out of charge twice (both times in the winter cold).

The 2016 LEAF has 107 miles of EPA range, but that's still not enough for it to be the lone car in a single-car household like mine (I've got two daughters).

It's my understand the 2017 LEAF will have 150+ miles of range, hopefully even 180. That's enough for me to use it as a lone car in my single-car household.

My 2014 LEAF lease runs out Feb. 22, 2016, and, obviously I need a car right away after the lease runs out.

I'm thinking possibly a 2016 Volt lease, but that appears to be expensive, and I'd have to go from Colorado to California to get one. I don't want a first generation Volt, because the back seat is way too small for my two pre-teen daughters. And I want more pure EV range.

--> Any ideas on how to get me from Feb. 22, 2016 until whenever the 2017 LEAF arrives in Colorado? (Buy a beater used car to drive for a year, possibly negotiate to extend my 2014 LEAF lease by 1 year, etc.)

Thank you for ideas and help!

--Christof, Denver, Colorado

Speculation is that the current 30kWh model will run up to Q2 2017, after which the 45kWh to 60kWh "second generation" LEAF will take over.

Bolt will be out a few months sooner and will probably deliver a better overall value, longer life battery, and better performance. LEAF will likely be slightly larger, slower, have less range, and not be very price competitive.