Is the CCS to CHADEMO adapter legitimate?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

osumartin

Does anyone know if the promoters of this are legitimate?

I was in the Nissan leaf forum on Reddit, and I came across this post.

This company is claiming to have a ccs to CHADEMO adapter.

Here is a link to the Reddit post.

https://www.reddit.com/r/leaf/s/zPzH55XdoA
The YouTube video promoting this is here.

I am not sending the link to the actual product, because I don't know if it is legitimate.

Dala is a well-known and respected member of the international EV community. I have no direct knowledge of that adapter but I'd believe anything that Dala says in the YouTube video and IIRC, he thought it worked. When it will be available for sale, at what price and what after-sales support would be are still TBD.

Be advised that Dala is in Europe and they have CCS-2, North America uses CCS-1, make sure any adaptor you order can be plugged into by a CCS-1 if in the US/
There was a link posted yesterday in another thread here (I can't find it now) that had the CCS-1 version. Appeared to be from the same manufacturer, only for CCS-1.

Still pretty early in all this, but Dala's endorsement is huge. With as fickle and unreliable as DC fast charging can be, I wouldn't be surprised if the experience is less reliable than usual using this, but it's gotta be an improvement over the dwindling population of Chademo ports.

That is good news. I trust Dala's opinion on things, and would take his recommendation. However,unless I mis heard the video he is doing beta testing, which means they are still working out problems that may crop up. If you are looking for a full functioning, no problems product, I'd wait until Dala says all the bugs have been worked out.

This is where Dala's patreon program could benefit Leaf owners in the US.