Page 1 of 4

Charging Interrupt By Utility?

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:22 pm
by SanDust
When I went out to the garage this morning I happened to notice that the Blink had a message saying that charging had been interrupted by the utility and would recommence at 11:51 AM, which was a couple of minutes later. It was not charging but in fact it did restart in a couple of minutes as suggested by the message.

Any idea what this was? I haven't seen anything suggesting that the utility could interrupt charging.

Re: Charging Interrupt By Utility?

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:40 pm
by linkim
SanDust wrote:When I went out to the garage this morning I happened to notice that the Blink had a message saying that charging had been interrupted by the utility and would recommence at 11:51 AM, which was a couple of minutes later. It was not charging but in fact it did restart in a couple of minutes as suggested by the message.
I had a similar experience last Friday just after the Blink was installed. The LEAF was being charged (no timer setting) when I received a notice of a short interruption which stated the time at which charging would re-commence. I waited and watched the Blink display. Sure enough charging restarted at the indicated time. My utility is PG&E in northern California. None of the power in the rest of the house was interrupted so PGE must be able to monitor the charging dock. I have a "smart meter" on my electrical panel. Maybe that gives them access to the Blink and the charging dock through smart meter or my internet connection to the Blink website.

Re: Charging Interrupt By Utility?

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 3:51 pm
by LEAFfan
SanDust, which utility do you have?

Re: Charging Interrupt By Utility?

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:13 pm
by DarkStar
SanDust wrote:When I went out to the garage this morning I happened to notice that the Blink had a message saying that charging had been interrupted by the utility and would recommence at 11:51 AM, which was a couple of minutes later. It was not charging but in fact it did restart in a couple of minutes as suggested by the message.

Any idea what this was? I haven't seen anything suggesting that the utility could interrupt charging.
Odds are you just experienced a software glitch. You'll know if you participate in "load-shedding" or not and things need to be set up in order to do that.

I've looked in the Blink and can't even find where a load-shedding lead would be attached...

Re: Charging Interrupt By Utility?

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:22 pm
by SanDust
My utility is SDG&E. Like linkim I think that every other electrical everything in the house was working normally. I'm thinking the shutdown had to originate on the Blink network side. Yes I have a smartmeter but the Blink just runs from a couple of 40 (20?) amp breakers. I don't have a second meter. In fact SDG&E hasn't gotten around to spotting it yet. Basically I just don't see that SDG&E has a mechanism for interacting with the Blink through the panel.

I'm guessing it's some "feature" we don't know about and Blink and/or SDG&E was just testing it. I can't confirm this since I don't know how long it was shut down, but I don't think it was for very long. Plus at 11:00 AM on a cool Sunday morning I can't believe there would have been a lot of electrical demand.

This isn't a big deal but I wouldn't want it to be standard practice. Even if the car is fully charged, if the charging stops and then restarts, the battery will be charged for a short period. This seems like exactly the situation Nissan warned against as shortening battery life -- constantly charging a battery which has only been slightly discharged. Not cool.

Re: Charging Interrupt By Utility?

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:29 pm
by Spies
DarkStar wrote:Odds are you just experienced a software glitch.
I agree with DarkStar in that you experienced a Blink software bug. Many such bugs have been discussed on this forum. Just do a search.

Re: Charging Interrupt By Utility?

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:15 pm
by whoami
Spies wrote:
DarkStar wrote:Odds are you just experienced a software glitch.
I agree with DarkStar in that you experienced a Blink software bug. Many such bugs have been discussed on this forum. Just do a search.
I know that SDG&E is not participating with Ecotality like this. I'll put a lot of money its a bug or public testing.

Either way sad stuff.

Re: Charging Interrupt By Utility?

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:27 pm
by TEG
With PG&E... Saw the same message myself for a short time. Either a prevalent glitch or they are doing remote testing...

Re: Charging Interrupt By Utility?

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:27 pm
by smkettner
I woud not think too much about it unless it repetes.

Re: Charging Interrupt By Utility?

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:28 pm
by whoami
TEG wrote:With PG&E... Saw the same message myself for a short time. Either a prevalent glitch or they are doing remote testing...
Has anyone reported this to Ecotality? What is there response (if any)?