What would you do if you were in my shoes? Possible new leaf

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cstambaugh

I've done my research, I know what to expect. I've driven multiple leafs, etc. So my question is not about the car in itself, but rather if it fits my habits and life. I want to make a decision on reality and not want. You guys have driven them for a few years now so what would you suggest?

Current cars:
2008 infiniti m45x (4.5L v8) Average 20 mpg. This is the car I'm thinking about replacing with a leaf.
2008 Mercedes c300 (3.0L v6) Average 25 mpg. Wifes car, this car will stay and be our long range 2nd car.
The #1 reason I'm considering a leaf is for cost per month of ownership alone, nothing else. Based on my numbers, I'm estimating the leaf to save me anywhere from $400-500/mo.

I'm an IT consultant so I drive all over the state of IN, but not all the time every day. Sometimes I wont leave the Indy area for weeks (like this month), but sometimes I'll drive 2 hours away for a week straight. When I stay in town, I'm usually around 50-60 miles a day, sometimes less. These are the days I keep thinking to myself that if I had a leaf, it would be absolutely perfect. My day would cost me $2.50 vs $10-20 to drive around. Trips to the gym, grocery, etc. would virtually be free vs. the 15 MPG in the infiniti.
I average around 25k-30k miles/year in just my car. My wife drives 6-8k/year.

What my thinking is that the Leaf would be my primary car, especially while I'm staying in town. On the occasions that I need to drive outside of the distance the leaf can handle, my wife and I just swap cars for the day since she drives 10 miles round trip every day to work. Long trips, we would obviously take the ICE.