True cost of maintenance and repair/fix for longer term?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carolle

I'm still new to my LEAF, which I leased this April. We are using only for city driving (20 miles per day).

I definitely believe that the cost of maintenance (including fix and repair) of LEAF should be cheaper than gasoline cars in the same segment (e.g., Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla, Hyundai Elantra etc; non-hybrid mid-size hatch back or sedans).

But, I'm not very clear about the cost for maintaining and fixing LEAF, assuming that I'm owning for 6-7 years, or even 10 years.

Let us limit to the drive train parts. Parts like brake, tire and interiors are the same with the gasoline cars.

Obviously, LEAF has many advantages, to name a few: (1) no engine oil, (2) no transmission oil, (3) no timing belt and water pump, (4) no gasket leak, (5) no engine filter, (6) no transmission failure, etc.

What about LEAF? What parts could be broken and need regular maintenance? And, what would be the costs for maintaining the drive train?

Especially, I'm wondering the life span and durability of AC motors and the battery.

Any information and experience would be appreciated!

Brake pads on the LEAF will last substantially longer than most cars due to regenerative braking.

There's a coolant pump for the charging system, but it's electronic.

The 12V battery will need replacing every 2-4 years depending on your climate and driving conditions.

The motor and reduction gear should last forever.

The traction battery is the big issue. They're not as durable as Nissan advertised, and you can't buy a new one. That's a sore topic around here, but there's a lot of other threads on it that you will find easily. No need to go over it all again here!