carwings driving history

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rkshack

I am new to the leaf having it for about a week. My normal commute is about 15 miles. Yesterday I drove a little more. I started out the day with a full charge and the car said I had 101 miles with the ac on. I drove it throughout the day and drove about 52+ miles according to odometer. I ended up at about 24 miles left on the dash.

I looked at carwings it said I went 48 miles and used 12 kwh. With 12kwh used shouldn't I have had half a battery charge. I thought the car held 24kw. Is carwings wrong or is the car understating my milage range.

rkshack

The usable capacity is about 21Kwh... Also, Carwings accuracy is suspect so don't place a lot of faith in it... Even with the Telematics software update, the data accuracy is marginal...

rkshack said:
I looked at carwings it said I went 48 miles and used 12 kwh. With 12kwh used shouldn't I have had half a battery charge. I thought the car held 24kw. Is carwings wrong or is the car understating my milage range.

For any newer LEAF (or an older '11 LEAF that was updated late last year with the telematics fix), CARWINGS energy consumption should be quite accurate. No worries.

I initially looked at the site right after midnight. The next morning I had some further data download and more mileage. The kwh usage went to 13.1. I was averaging 3.9 miles/kwh. If I remember right the mileage was down in the 20s. Does that seem acurate?

rkshack

I really suspect CarWings' data. I have the updated software on my 2011.

I'm averaging 4.3 m/kwh on the odo, 4.4 on the screen, and a whopping 6.1 m/kwh according to CarWings. I don't think so--especially when, between two days for the exact same commute and closer-than-a-fly's-wing of the same energy consumption, it went from 5.5 m/kwh to 6.1! Come on?! Something's fishy here.

Chieftan68 said: