2021 Plus SOC, charging behavior clarifications?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rlmalisz

Have now had our '21 Plus since June, and love the car. With the onset of PNW winter driving (getting to use lights, wipers, defog, and running winter tires), range has predictably shrunk. As a retired engineer, I am still trying to wrestle down what the battery SOC numbers on the dash mean. I have seen in various fora mentions of battery headroom and tailroom that lie outside the 0-100 scale on the dash. I'd like to know the real values for those for the '21 Plus. I'll be plugging in a module for LeafSpy in the next week or so, and can get numbers and probably dope this out, but in the meantime:

1) What's the battery capacity that's above where things are when the dash SOC reads 100%? Is that a fixed percentage of total battery, and thus will shrink as battery SOH goes down? Or is it some fixed number of kWh from whatever 100% x SOH is?
2) Similarly, the same questions for what apparently lurks below dash 0% SOC?
3) Does the OBC stop charging for L1/L2 when this pseudo-100% is reached?

Thanks in advance. Trying to get my head around actual usable battery numbers as given by the vehicle.

--Richard

rlmalisz said:
Have now had our '21 Plus since June, and love the car. With the onset of PNW winter driving (getting to use lights, wipers, defog, and running winter tires), range has predictably shrunk. As a retired engineer, I am still trying to wrestle down what the battery SOC numbers on the dash mean. I have seen in various fora mentions of battery headroom and tailroom that lie outside the 0-100 scale on the dash. I'd like to know the real values for those for the '21 Plus. I'll be plugging in a module for LeafSpy in the next week or so, and can get numbers and probably dope this out, but in the meantime: