Warranty confusion - Help!

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sciencegirl

I am a teacher with a dream and a budget. I can buy a CPO 2013 from a NIssan dealer for 9k or and equivalent car from a little roadside, independent used car dealer for 8K. Both cars have about 40k miles on them.

So, I thought - no brainer, save 1k and get the 8k one, right?

According to the carfax on the 8K car - I would be the 3rd owner. I read somewhere (I am on Leaf info overload and it's starting to just melt my brain) - that the warranty is transferable to the second owner.

Does this mean that if I'm the 3rd owner, my battery won't be covered for the remainder of the 96/100k battery warranty?

Help!

Indeed I am very green to this (pun intended).

One car has a manufacture date of 10/1/13 the other 11/14/13. I will be looking at each car over the next few days.
I"ll see the max charge/bars each is getting and miles.

I don't imagine either dealer would allow me to use Leafspy, would they?

What else should I do?

There's also a 2014 with a manufacture date of 2/14 that I might consider, but figured with that date of manu, I may as well lump it in as equivalent with the other two.

My apologies for what may be newbie questions - I am indeed a newbie and am experiencing information overload.

The dealership I bought from was fine with me using LeafSpy and the other I was in talks with was willing to send me the LeafSpy data before I even saw the car. It doesn't hurt to ask, but it does hurt to not ask.

Be devious: tell the dealership you want to verify that the car does not have any engine codes (which should also be true.) Plug in your obdII adapter and read it with LeafSpy.

The non LeafSpy approach is to use a test drive to evaluate the battery health:
Charge up the car to 80% SoC;
Reset the trip meter so you know the miles/kWh for your test drive;