What is a true comparable car to the LEAF and Volt?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PaulScott

Jerry Hirsch, an auto writer for the LA Times, recently wrote an article on the payback times of the Volt and LEAF. http://lat.ms/GDoCmb" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

As with many of these articles, he compared the LEAF to a Versa and the Volt to the Cruze. I wrote to him explaining that this is a false comparison since the Versa and Cruze were not even close to the plug-in versions in quality and functionality. He thought I made a good point and wanted to know what cars would compare. Since I've been driving an EV for over 9 years, I have no idea what ICE vehicles are true comparisons to the Volt and LEAF. Jerry wants to revisit this issue in a subsequent article, so he asked me to give him some ideas of vehicles that would legitimately compare to the plug-ins.

Do any of you have some good choices for me to give him?

For the LEAF SL, I would say the MAZDA3 s Grand Touring 5-Door (automatic). When you add XM, Homelink, interior lighting, etc it's @ $25,900 with $795 destination. It does have leather and power sets however, which the LEAF doesn't. Also the MAZDA has a Bose stereo which is nicer than the LEAF SL. But really, when you compare the content the cars side by side, they are very similar.

Potential LEAF Comparisons
-Toyota Prius
-Honda Insight
-Honda Accord Crosstour
-VW Golf TDI 4-door
-Volvo V50
-Mini Countryman

Potential Volt Comparisons
-Cadillac CTS
-Audi A4
-Lexus IS

Probably the closest LEAF competitor is the VW Golf TDI 4-door with Tech package and automatic/DSG which comes out to $30,210 with destination.

PaulScott said:
Jerry Hirsch, an auto writer for the LA Times, recently wrote an article on the payback times of the Volt and LEAF. http://lat.ms/GDoCmb" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;