Understanding EV charging - for the absolute beginner

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ingineer

After helping thousands of new LEAF owners understand the basics of EV charging, I've created some simple reading that only takes a few minutes of your time, and you'll come away with a much better understanding of electricity and charging.

I'd love some feedback. I'd like to keep it short and simple so busy people can absorb it, and only as technical as needed. I found that giving people a basic understanding of electricity is very empowering (hehe) as well!

-Phil

Very good description, Phil. I only spotted one very minor slip: In the first paragraph after the Electricity/Water Analogy link you seem to be missing a word: "Since you now likely a new electric vehicle owner, ..."

One thing you have glossed over is the distinction between DC and AC. I agree that AC is conceptually harder to understand, and harder to extend the water analogy to. But I think once the basic concepts of amps, volts, and watts have soaked in (pun intended), people will buy that those same concepts apply to AC, even if they have to accept a bit of magic about what the electrons are doing. There does seem to be some confusion among neophytes at times as to why you can't just go from 240v to the QC port, as well as what transformers are and where they can be used. And there is no end of confusion about what a charger is and does compared to what an EVSE is and does.

Ray

Thanks everyone for finding all my Typos! Funny how I don't see them when I preuf reed! :lol: