question about leaving headlights on all the time

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Epi117

heading into day 8 of owning my 2013 Leaf, so far loving the car, hating the nav system but just finished setting it up to receive Google feeds for maps, so that should help.

239 miles so far on day 8 with 5 miles per kWh, having a ton of fun, with maximizing millage, so my question is, i always leave my lights on, does that use allot of energy?

and i want to thanks everyone who has been generous with advice for my questions, almost purchased a GE watt station, but thanks to advice here i did not! AeroVironment Plug-In Residential EV Charger should be here this week, electrician was $250.

If you have an SV or SL with the LED headlights, they take very little power.
I've been driving a 2011 LEAF for 22 months, 12,000 miles, and I always drive with the lights on.
LEAF does not have daytime running lights in the US.
I think the safety data is pretty clear that daytime running lights is safer.
So I run the LED headlights all the time, with very little range impact.

TimLee said:
So I run the LED headlights all the time, with very little range impact.

Lights a getting power from 12V acid battery, so it shouldn't impact range at all.

And yes, there are 4 LEDs in headlights, 12W each. So 48W in total.

Den said:
Lights a[re] getting power from 12V acid battery, so it shouldn't impact range at all.