pre cooling and pre heating - impact on battery life

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nschuster

can someone with experience pre-heating or pre-cooling the Leaf (when not connected to a charging unit) provide some details on how much it drains the battery?

i'm curious how fast pre-heating or pre-cooling drains the battery - if i pre-heat the Leaf for 10 or 15 minutes in cold weather when the car is parked outside, will this have a major impact on remaining range?

losing 3-4 miles of range for 10 minutes of preheating is not bad at all; i was afraid it was going to be way more!

have to admit, i'm not sure what GOM stands for. i'm a total newbie - haven't taken delivery of my Leaf yet, so that is my excuse for being uninformed. at least until i have the car and have to learn all this stuff....

nschuster said:
losing 3-4 miles of range for 10 minutes of preheating is not bad at all; i was afraid it was going to be way more!

have to admit, i'm not sure what GOM stands for. i'm a total newbie - haven't taken delivery of my Leaf yet, so that is my excuse for being uninformed. at least until i have the car and have to learn all this stuff....

GOM; guessometer aka "estimate range for entire pack based on last 1/100th of pack usage (as if that would translate correctly to total range of the car.

why its called a GOM; well, if your range is say 50 miles and you need to go 55. simply find a hill to coast down. that should boost you to 55 miles of estimated range. now will that keep you from walking?? that is a good question many are still trying to answer

thank you! there are a lot of acronyms i will need to learn.....

i'll also have to bone up on electricity - i admit, i'm not sure what the difference is between a volt, an amp, an ohm and a watt.

i do have a driver's license, at least (bought it on ebay).

nschuster said: