level 1 vs level 2 losses?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrockWI

I am relatively new to this, but familiar with charging larger battery banks. We have a 24kw SLA battery bank running at 48v feeding a xantrex 6048 inverter with our solar PV setup.

Anyway for our first week used used the level 1 120v charger and looking at the kwh used and now using the level 2 charger I noticed a significant drop in KWH from the same apparent SOC.

So what I am wondering is what is the on-board charging / system loss? Lets just assume it's 100w to have it on and charging. If that's the case and you had to charge 18kwh the level 2 for three hours is 300w lost. The same thing on level 1 would be 16 hours and at 100w its a loss of 1600w. That seems to me to be quite significant and something I hadn't thought of when using a level 1 charger for the long run.

Thoughts?

Yes, charging on 120V / L1 is less efficient than charging on 240V / L2.

IIRC 240V is around 85-87% efficient, while 120V is around 75% efficient and as you've guessed, the difference is from the overhead in powering the car, cooling pumps, etc, while charging.

I have no idea what the "standard" loss is (but am curious), but I would imagine charging a 300+volt pack with 120v vs charging 300+ volt pack with 240, 240 would require less step up to get you there, thus less loss there as well. The things you think about or don't :)