Battery (fast) draw, 2017 Leaf S

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

happa

I’m a newb to a 2017 Leaf S.

I bought the car at 28k miles with 11 of the 12 charge bars on the instrument panel. It was purchased from a lease, so I imagine the previous owner went ham on the Quick Charges (which I will soon find out when I get LeafSpy working).

I’m having some anxiety about the battery and how quickly I think it drains.

Start: 28491 @ 100% charge
End: 28503 @ 85% charge

view

view

Only 12 miles, and I’m down by 15%, is this typical? I read somewhere else that somebody had taken their 2017 Leaf S in to get the software updated and brought their power bars up from 11 to 12 and a more accurate reading? Is this what I might need to do?

Depends on your consumption (in miles per kWh). You can and should reset the miles/kWh display the next time to you check.

Your '17 is a 30 kWh Leaf. Heck, on my 11 bar '13 Leaf w/LeafSpy SOH at around 79.xx%, it's closer to 2% for every mile on some drives.

30 kWh Leaf on a new battery (no degradation) only has an EPA range rating of 107 miles (https://fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=38428). You should get https://insideevs.com/news/338528/update-nissan-has-software-fix-for-2016-17-leaf-30-kwh-battery-reporting-issues/ applied, if you haven't already. If you lose 4 capacity bars and it hasn't been applied, the dealer will apply it for you, which will likely restore some capacity bars.

If the update was already applied and you have 11 capacity bars, then you're likely already down at least 15% in capacity...

One of the handy things about a 30 kWh pack is that you can do easily estimate range as each percentage of battery charge translates to 1 mile, during "average" conditions.