Gen 1 or 2 ?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

killie77

Hi

I'm guessing this question has been asked before.
I'm thinking of buying the Leaf,I've seen some Gen 1s going for around 10000 late 2017
The Gen 2s seem to start around 12500. I've no experience of the Leaf, so can't decide which Gen to go for. Though I'm leaning towards the Gen 2.
Appreciate any replies.
Thanks
Ian

Welcome. In order to answer your question, we need to know what your needs and preferences are. One thing to keep in mind, though, is that most of the batteries used in the 2017 Leaf are problematic in that they are prone to degradation of capacity. I'm going to attach my used Leaf buying guide. It focuses on the Gen I Leaf, but if you read through the posts following it, there is a short guide for the Gen II as well.

http://www.mynissanleaf.com/viewtopic.php?p=538030

killie77 said:
Hi

I'm guessing this question has been asked before.
I'm thinking of buying the Leaf,I've seen some Gen 1s going for around 10000 late 2017
The Gen 2s seem to start around 12500. I've no experience of the Leaf, so can't decide which Gen to go for. Though I'm leaning towards the Gen 2.
Appreciate any replies.
Thanks
Ian

I'm a new owner of a Gen1, but I bought it BECAUSE it had a degraded battery. I want a new 40kWh or a buyout from Nissan due to some very advantageous things I can do with local EV incentives. If you don't want to monkey around with any of that, and just want an EV that works, go with the Gen 2. The 30kWh battery packs suck. Mine has degraded significantly even in the short time I've owned it. I don't mind, but I'd be P.O.ed if I hadn't known what I was getting myself into ahead of time.