Charging question on Leaf 2019

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rclarfield

Ok, total newbie for the Leaf. My wife has a 2019 Leaf and I had a 240V line installed . The issue is the 240 line is the big plug for like a dryer and the charger I bought her has a small adaptor. MEGEAR Skysword Level 1-2 EV Charger, 100-240V 16A 25FT Portable EVSE, NEMA 6-20 Plug with NEMA 5-15 A. Did I get her the wrong charger. Can someone let me know the best way to resolve this?

Thanks,
Robert

You should be able to just use a 6-20 to 6 - 30 (or whatever the designation for the 30A dryer outlet) adapter plug. As long as you aren't exceeding the 30A rating of the dryer circuit you should be fine. The EVSE is 16A at 240 volts, so that's good.

If you can return the EVSE, consider doing that. For not much more $ you can buy a portable L2 EVSE with a 14-30P and with adjustable amperage settings. 240v @ 24A would be perfect for an existing dryer 30A circuit.

Having said that, definitely do not buy a 32A EVSE that can't be adjusted to 24A.

The Zencar mentioned in my signature is just one example. That EVSE has been flawless for the last 5 years and provides 6 kW charging on my 30A 14-30R circuit.

rclarfield said:
I had a 240V line installed
What size circuit breaker is it on? 30A? 40A?

For future-proof, I would recommend a minimum of a 40A circuit (which you can use for an 80% continuous load; e.g., charge at 32A).

rclarfield said:
MEGEAR Skysword Level 1-2 EV Charger, 100-240V 16A 25FT Portable EVSE

As noted by alozzy, I would also suggest you return this EVSE and get another one. This is limited to 16A. If you have a 30A circuit, you want an EVSE that can be set to 24A (80% load on the 30A circuit). Doing so will let you charge the car 50% faster than this EVSE.

I'm showing you a NEMA 14-30 below, is this the receptacle that was installed ?

Be EXACT