2012 Gen 1. Range stated as 229km SOH at Zero percent and 10 bars goes up to 12

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

martincanuk

Hi all, I'm a newbie to any forum posting although I've had my 2012 LEAF for 7 years now. The Japanese made car was originally first sold/leased in Northern Washington, USA. I live in Sidney, BC, Canada which is a 'cool Mediterranean climate'. I've scanned forums for any reports of the strange behaviour that my car is displaying but didn't find anything similar. LEAFSPY indicates that I have one bad cell or battery indicated as short blue bar and the battery levels, tall red bars, look to be unbalanced. I tried the almost full discharge followed by a full charge plus wait three or more hours after the third charging lamp extinguishes. I have bought a used battery module which is in good health to replace the bad cell or battery module which is shown as being in position 79, wherever that is. I suppose I will check each module until I find the bad one. When I fully charge the battery it shows 10 bars but after driving for about 15km it goes up to 12 bars before it starts going down. I charged recently and the range shown afterwards was 229km which rose a few km while driving before falling. Turtle mode cuts in after a rapid range loss at about 25km but it varies. Could a computer problem or a battery management problem be part of the strange display behaviour? The car has almost 60,000km on the odometer of which I have done about 40000km since purchase. I have images of the LEAFSPY results and the instrument displays but I don't think that I'm allowed to post them here. I'd like to get some input from a person familiar with these strange manifestations before I open Pandora's battery box. Any light shed on this conundrum will be gratefully appreciated.

Welcome to the forum.