Question about Air conditioner

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BKY2003

I'm new to leaf (15 days). I searched air conditioner post but could not find anything. I was noticing that my new 2018, 40 kwh leaf uses alot of power for the air conditioner. Has anyone tried setting up an alternative AC? Maybe like Used Leaf batteries and a car 12v Ac. And charge these separately .

What are you calling "alot of power"? I understand that configuring the LEAF's heat pump to allow cabin heating sacrificed a smidgen of efficiency relative to the earlier "cabin cooling only" setups, but it still seems pretty effective to me. For darn sure, you're not going to outdo it with any 12V-powered after-market add-on; I believe the compressor in the LEAF's system runs from the high-voltage traction battery. How are you determining your LEAF's HVAC power consumption?

On my 2018 leaf I press the leaf power consumption display button. Sometimes my AC will show 3.5 KW for AC and after a while it will go down to 1 KW. But I do live in Florida. I was comparing it to a 5000btu AC I have, and it uses 500watts on high.

Is the leaf AC cooling the battery pack? Thanks for your reply.

Just drove 21miles, First 9 miles it said over 3.5 kw then dropped to 1.5 kw the rest of the trip. 93 degrees out side, set the AC to 80 degrees.

BKY2003 said:
... Sometimes my AC will show 3.5 KW for AC and after a while it will go down to 1 KW. But I do live in Florida. I was comparing it to a 5000btu AC I have, and it uses 500watts on high.

The LEAF's AC is probably double to triple the BTU capacity of your window unit. Cars need to cool down quickly and also have to contend with a huge solar loading.

BKY2003 said: