Techy who can't get LeafSpy working

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daveycsharp

Hi all

I have a late 2014 Leaf Tekna, an iPhone 8 Plus, LeafSpy Pro version 1.6.28 and the following OBDII Wifi Dongle: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Pumpkin-Interface-Wireless-Diagnostic-Scanner/dp/B011O69946/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1517318125&sr=8-1&keywords=elm327+wifi

I have followed the instructions for wifi by manually setting the IP and subnet in loads of different configurations including automatic but can never get LeafSpy to connect. I am a software developer by trade so feel I have totally let myself down as I am usually "the fixer" for other people :D

I have also selected the ODBII connector in the settings and registered it.

Here are some images of the different settings I have tried. I only ever get Retry ELM 11 in yellow in the corner. Am I doing some stupid or is there an issue with my dongle?

leaf1.png

leaf2.png

leaf3.png

leaf4.png

leaf5.png

Hi,
I am experiencing exactly what you have experienced. Did manage to fix it? Can you share how?

Thank you in advance,

Greetings from Maria

If you have a WiFi OBDII adapter and the state shown in the lower right corner gets stuck and loops around state 11 then your WiFi OBDII adapter most likely does not support the needed ELM commands to communicate with the Leaf's proprietary protocol.

I have seen this on the newer batch of WiFi OBDII adapters.

I use and recommend using a Carista Bluetooth OBDII adapter. It works with both Android and iOS devices.

If you take an ELM trace while trying to connect and send it to me I can confirm the WiFi OBDII adapter is the problem. See the bottom of the built-in help for how to take an ELM trace and where it is stored.