Page 3 of 3

Re: Blink Firmware 1.8 - here's hoping

Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:13 pm
by garygid
The Beta version of 2.0 is now being tested by some of our members.

According to their reports (see the 2.0 thread) some relief is in sight, with a much improved system.

However, apparently the WiFi hardware remains a weak link.

Re: Blink Firmware 1.8 - here's hoping

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 6:54 pm
by DeaneG
Wish I could test 2.0. My 1.8 firmware has failed to charge three times (once or twice a week) since it was pushed to my Blink. A reboot of the Blink fixes it.

Re: Blink Firmware 1.8 - here's hoping

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:29 pm
by zevrulz
Plugged the BLINK thingy into my Leaf tonight and nothing happened! No charge status lights went on. The car is less than 4 weeks old but the level 1 EVSE which came with it works. So I don't know who's to blame on that one, but given the beta-ness of the charger (and it's firmware, I just checked that it's running v1.8) I wouldn't be surprised if it came from that side.
Anyone had a similar problem?

Re: Blink Firmware 1.8 - here's hoping

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:34 pm
by DeaneG
zevrulz wrote:Plugged the BLINK thingy into my Leaf tonight and nothing happened!..
That's what I'm talkin' about! Unplug the short fat Blink power cord from the wall, wait half a minute or more, then plug it back in. In a minute or so you should be back to working... until next time.

Re: Blink Firmware 1.8 - here's hoping

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:42 pm
by zevrulz
DeaneG wrote: That's what I'm talkin' about! Unplug the short fat Blink power cord from the wall, wait half a minute or more, then plug it back in. In a minute or so you should be back to working... until next time.
I just went through this exercise twice with a BLINK customer care rep on the phone. The unit was unplugged for 2 minutes each time, it didn't help. I'll leave it unplugged overnight and try again in the morning.

Re: Blink Firmware 1.8 - here's hoping

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:49 pm
by linkim
zevrulz wrote:
DeaneG wrote: That's what I'm talkin' about! Unplug the short fat Blink power cord from the wall, wait half a minute or more, then plug it back in. In a minute or so you should be back to working... until next time.
I just went through this exercise twice with a BLINK customer care rep on the phone. The unit was unplugged for 2 minutes each time, it didn't help. I'll leave it unplugged overnight and try again in the morning.
I had similar problems that may be due to a weak wireless connection. The Blink showed wi-fi was connected, but it didn't give any indication of signal strength. The solution to my problem was to use power line adapters and get away from wi-fi. Since then, no problems.

Re: Blink Firmware 1.8 - here's hoping

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:53 pm
by DeaneG
linkim wrote:... The solution to my problem was to use power line adapters and get away from wi-fi. Since then, no problems.
Unfortunately, I have Enphase PV microinverters and a home automation system already using my AC lines for communication. I tried adding powerline ethernet to the mix and the result wasn't reliable. Maybe New Year's will bring me a WES610N 4-port dual band bridge.

Re: Blink Firmware 1.8 - here's hoping

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:01 pm
by DoxyLover
zevrulz wrote:
DeaneG wrote: That's what I'm talkin' about! Unplug the short fat Blink power cord from the wall, wait half a minute or more, then plug it back in. In a minute or so you should be back to working... until next time.
I just went through this exercise twice with a BLINK customer care rep on the phone. The unit was unplugged for 2 minutes each time, it didn't help. I'll leave it unplugged overnight and try again in the morning.
Silly question: you did check the circuit breaker, right?