Page 1 of 1

Blink Screen Not Responding

Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 1:14 pm
by DTB
The touch screen on my Blink has stopped responding!

I just had it installed last week and it seemed to be working fine before I got the car. It passed the testing the installer's did and I was able to click around to the various menus. Plugged the car in for the first time and it charged fine. Unplugged the car and it went back to the "plug in your car" screen. I came back a few hours later and touched the screen but no response. Tried plugging the car back in and the screen changes normally but still doesn't respond to any touch. Finally tried resetting the breaker and now it's stuck on the calibration screen since it isn't recognizing anything when I touch it.
Called tech support and he had me reset the breaker again but no change. He had no other ideas so they are sending somebody out to look at it. He said he's had a few other calls but flipping the breaker has worked for those.

Re: Blink Screen Not Responding

Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 1:28 pm
by DarkStar
Does the "press to calibrate" screen start "counting" down? If it does and eventually goes back to the regular charging screen, it's hopefully just a loose cable. Otherwise it could probably be anything! :D

Re: Blink Screen Not Responding

Posted: Wed May 11, 2011 3:39 pm
by DTB
It was just stuck on the initial calibrate screen, wouldn't do anything. The countdown screen you mention is actually a confirmation screen that comes up after the calibration screen (I couldn’t even get that far).

Somebody from I guess the regional Ecotality office came out today. He swapped the SD Card saying this is the newest update and we were one of the first to receive it but that they were going to be rolling it out to everybody in the next few months. Seems weird that a SW update would fix a frozen touch screen, especially since this doesn’t seem to be a common/known issue, but we shall see.

Re: Blink Screen Not Responding

Posted: Wed May 11, 2011 3:42 pm
by LEAFfan
DTB wrote:It was just stuck on the initial calibrate screen, wouldn't do anything. The countdown screen you mention is actually a confirmation screen that comes up after the calibration screen (I couldn’t even get that far).

Somebody from I guess the regional Ecotality office came out today. He swapped the SD Card saying this is the newest update and we were one of the first to receive it but that they were going to be rolling it out to everybody in the next few months. Seems weird that a SW update would fix a frozen touch screen, especially since this doesn’t seem to be a common/known issue, but we shall see.
I hope it has the 'sleep' mode update.

Re: Blink Screen Not Responding

Posted: Thu May 12, 2011 1:53 pm
by DTB
Got home yesterday and the touch screen was back in operation but I noticed the screen looked a bit different....
Taking a closer look I noticed that the right side of the screen no longer has rate info and on top of that the entire "Stats" tab is completely gone. I also notice that I don't have any timer options under the "Settings" tab. Not sure if that functionality is being removed? Did I somehow get some limited functionality software or am I in some limited/test mode?
Thinking perhaps I've got a sneak peak at something new I searched around for a hibernate setting, but didn't find anything :( Just a big, brightly lit screen that's on 24/7 but now with less functionality.

Re: Blink Screen Not Responding

Posted: Sun May 22, 2011 2:00 am
by scm6079
DTB wrote:Got home yesterday and the touch screen was back in operation but I noticed the screen looked a bit different....
Taking a closer look I noticed that the right side of the screen no longer has rate info and on top of that the entire "Stats" tab is completely gone. I also notice that I don't have any timer options under the "Settings" tab. Not sure if that functionality is being removed? Did I somehow get some limited functionality software or am I in some limited/test mode?
Thinking perhaps I've got a sneak peak at something new I searched around for a hibernate setting, but didn't find anything :( Just a big, brightly lit screen that's on 24/7 but now with less functionality.
If the unit fails during a self update operation it returns to a basic operation mode / factory reset. This sounds like what happened to your unit. You can confirm this by looking at the firmware version on the device information screen. The unit will update itself to the new firmware automatically if it is on the network. If you continue to have problems I would contact Blink support with the details including the firmware version and last network connection time that your unit shows.

-Scott

Re: Blink Screen Not Responding

Posted: Sun May 22, 2011 2:03 am
by scm6079
I also wanted to mention a very likely cause for your first problem. If the plastic housing touches the screen to hard, or if it shifts off center too far it can touch the screen's "active" area which will cause all other touches to be missed. The Blink units are not multitouch like and iPhone/iPad so if anything is registering as a touch all other touches will be ignored. If you see is again, look to make sure your screen is not being touched by the plastic housing off of the grey "dead" zone tape on the edges of the screen.

-Scott