Page 5 of 7

Re: New Firmware Pushed : L2R.1.3A

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:54 am
by bowthom
Hello Blinkers,
Well, for the first time my Blink has been working OK since the Two updates so I'm just leaving it alone. The updates blew a couple days of test data for me so I'm kinda sitting back and watching now.

Re: New Firmware Pushed : L2R.1.3A

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 3:53 am
by driveleaf
I don't think a dumb mode would be smart given the blinks obligation to supply data under the DOE grants.

Silly engineers, using cheap wifi parts. It's 2011. Wifi is pretty easy to manage at this point. And there'd be no cat5 to run in my two story house, so we'd have to be on wifi.

Software engineers are not appliance engineers though. We go through this all the time in my work. Make it stable, T H E N worry about a new feature upgrade.

Re: New Firmware Pushed : L2R.1.3A

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:13 am
by evnow
GroundLoop wrote:Wow. Seems like the Blink should have an external toggle switch that puts it into "Dumb EVSE" mode.

A master override that just enables the charging and ditches the rest, for when the firmware acts up.
Call it CC Mode. :)
When wi-Fi doesn't work - Blink is in dumb CC mode - as long as it doesn't affect charging.

My w-fi is holding up after 2 days - and works even when charging.

Re: New Firmware Pushed : L2R.1.3A

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:35 am
by cyellen
Do I have to do anything to get this firmware update (not that I think I really want it, looking at some of the other comments)? My Blink is still one version behind. I don't see a way to manually initiate the update or to check for updates.

Re: New Firmware Pushed : L2R.1.3A

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:38 am
by IBELEAF
cyellen wrote:Do I have to do anything to get this firmware update (not that I think I really want it, looking at some of the other comments)? My Blink is still one version behind. I don't see a way to manually initiate the update or to check for updates.
You can update via IP address of the BLINK and your PC. At least that's what I have in my version, but good luck trying to get the firmware from Blink. Their support has been absolutely useless so far and no response after numerous calls and email. Maybe they don't bother with me because I don't have the car yet, but I don't want to be troubleshooting this while I have the car.

Re: New Firmware Pushed : L2R.1.3A

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:55 am
by Jimmydreams
cyellen wrote:Do I have to do anything to get this firmware update (not that I think I really want it, looking at some of the other comments)? My Blink is still one version behind. I don't see a way to manually initiate the update or to check for updates.
My Blink took a day or two after everyone else reported the new firmware before it actually 'found' the new firmware. I didn't do anything.

I hardwired my unit, and it seems to be working fine after the update. On L2R.1.2A, I 'lost' the internet connection, even thought it was hardwired!! So far, 1.3A seems stable.

Re: New Firmware Pushed : L2R.1.3A

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:11 am
by perpetualstudent
Well I am starting to have charge interuptions again. It may be more prevelant when battery is below 50% charge, but I have at least one case where it cut out at 92%. Last night, I ended up connecting the L1 (getting 30% charge is better than 0%). I woke up and switched back to L2. I think that I will start using L1 when I don't have time to babysit the connection. Hopefully they get this fixed soon.

Michael

Re: New Firmware Pushed : L2R.1.3A

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 12:22 pm
by evnow
perpetualstudent wrote:Well I am starting to have charge interuptions again. It may be more prevelant when battery is below 50% charge, but I have at least one case where it cut out at 92%. Last night, I ended up connecting the L1 (getting 30% charge is better than 0%). I woke up and switched back to L2. I think that I will start using L1 when I don't have time to babysit the connection. Hopefully they get this fixed soon.
You did report this problem, right ?

Re: New Firmware Pushed : L2R.1.3A

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 5:18 pm
by perpetualstudent
evnow wrote:
perpetualstudent wrote:Well I am starting to have charge interuptions again. It may be more prevelant when battery is below 50% charge, but I have at least one case where it cut out at 92%. Last night, I ended up connecting the L1 (getting 30% charge is better than 0%). I woke up and switched back to L2. I think that I will start using L1 when I don't have time to babysit the connection. Hopefully they get this fixed soon.
You did report this problem, right ?
Of course. So far they have given me no answers. They did want me to call the next time that it happened and said they had a 24 hr 7 day a week call center. So I spent some time around midnight Saturday night listening to "all our representatives are busy" messages.

Re: New Firmware Pushed : L2R.1.3A

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 5:34 pm
by Jimmydreams
My Blink has been 'on-line' for 2+ days now after upgrading to .3A, but it's hardwired. I DID get a dropped LAN connection at least once on .2A, so that's something.....

My Blink is scheduled to start charging at 11pm, but it started charging immediately upon plug-in today at 5:10. Email sent to EVP.

The bug chase continues.