Page 2 of 6

Re: Carcharging/Blink Reduces resedential EVSE's to 24Amp.

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:22 am
by DarkStar
Just checked and mine is still set to 30 amps. I verified the CDMA modem is still in there, but since Blink cancelled the service the log shows there is no modem.

If you want to manually change your current, here are the instructions:

On the Blink, click on Settings, then Device Info. Press on the 30A under Maximum Current and hold your finger there for at least 10 seconds. This will take you to a screen asking for the code, the current code is 906598. Then you'll be in Maintenance Mode and be able to change the Maximum Current.

Re: Carcharging/Blink Reduces resedential EVSE's to 24Amp.

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 11:18 am
by gbarry42
Thanks. I didn't even have to search for the howto. I changed it to 16 A, so if they meddle with it they will be on record as having raised the current limit :)

There are other items on that menu. Are any of them interesting? They all looked like things I can do normally.

What does the CDMA modem look like? Mine's a replacement box so maybe it was deleted.

And lastly, how do I get into maintenance mode from my couch (the web interface) ? :D

Re: Carcharging/Blink Reduces resedential EVSE's to 24Amp.

Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:25 am
by gbarry42
So, my charge current limit was raised today...to 24A ( :D -->see previous message). Good news is that the firmware didn't change, and neither did the ability to change the current again in the future :geek:

BTW, when they change it, it goes into the log.

Re: Carcharging/Blink Reduces resedential EVSE's to 24Amp.

Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 3:20 am
by JPWhite
gbarry42 wrote:So, my charge current limit was raised today...to 24A ( :D -->see previous message). Good news is that the firmware didn't change, and neither did the ability to change the current again in the future :geek:

BTW, when they change it, it goes into the log.
Well spotted batman!! Mine has changed now as well.
Good to know that we can override by going into maintenance mode. Some of us may choose to buy a new cable through eBay or Amazon rather than Carcharging.

Re: Carcharging/Blink Reduces resedential EVSE's to 24Amp.

Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:21 am
by TomT
My guess is that they push it out to all of them and don't query the unit to see if it actually needs it first...

I took mine off network about a month ago as it has a replacement cord and I didn't want it downgraded. And I saw no upside to continuing to let them have access since I have no use for their data and no longer get anything in return...
gbarry42 wrote:I'm not inclined to take it off the network. Maybe if I changed the setting myself they would pass over as not needing it (worth a shot).

Re: Carcharging/Blink Reduces resedential EVSE's to 24Amp.

Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:32 am
by DaveEV
JPWhite wrote:Well spotted batman!! Mine has changed now as well.
Yep, mine is set to 24A now, too.

Re: Carcharging/Blink Reduces resedential EVSE's to 24Amp.

Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 10:40 am
by leafedbehind
I got the email this morning, but mine has not yet been changed from 30. I had already gotten a replacement cord from Ecotality last year for this problem. I called them. They told me the problem is with the cable, not just the plug. They are going to send me some paperwork in the mail to get approval to change it back to 30! If they actually remotely change it to 24A. Thanks for the post on how to do it myself. I'm leaving mine online because I like to see the start/stop updates via email.

Re: Carcharging/Blink Reduces resedential EVSE's to 24Amp.

Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:42 pm
by thankyouOB
that note also talked about replacing the original unit with an upgrade.
did anyone consider that useful to do?

(mine was reset to 24A).
I like being able to manipulate the box from my computer, otherwise I would disconnect it. i think it is a good thing to share the data for the EV movement.

Re: Carcharging/Blink Reduces resedential EVSE's to 24Amp.

Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 3:12 pm
by JPWhite
thankyouOB wrote:
(mine was reset to 24A).
I like being able to manipulate the box from my computer, otherwise I would disconnect it. i think it is a good thing to share the data for the EV movement.
Same here. I leave it connected for the web interface and being able to keep up with my monthly electricity usage by the LEAF.

Other units don't have the web access to access a meter like the Blink. For all their faults, they have premium features.

Re: Carcharging/Blink Reduces resedential EVSE's to 24Amp.

Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:27 pm
by thankyouOB
DarkStar wrote:Just checked and mine is still set to 30 amps. I verified the CDMA modem is still in there, but since Blink cancelled the service the log shows there is no modem.

If you want to manually change your current, here are the instructions:

On the Blink, click on Settings, then Device Info. Press on the 30A under Maximum Current and hold your finger there for at least 10 seconds. This will take you to a screen asking for the code, the current code is 906598. Then you'll be in Maintenance Mode and be able to change the Maximum Current.

i tried that last graf, and nothing happened when i held my finger on 24A.