2015 Nissan Leaf S radio replacement: Everything works without cutting.

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

takis

I finally managed to replace the radio on my 2015 Leaf S (the most basic model, no NAV, no BOSE) and i wanted to put down the list of adapters needed to make it happen without cutting into the factory harness.

First of all, respect to the professional car stereo installers. Even though I have some experience with soldering and have replaced other (simpler) car stereos before, this one here was pretty complicated for me.

The factory radio has a tiny screen and the Bluetooth does not support streaming so I replaced it with an Alpine ILX-207. It has all the features I wanted (including android auto and apple car play) but it also has a microphone right on the unit’s faceplate. I never liked those ugly mics included with most units (this unit has one too, if you need one).

Before replacing the radio, I replaced all four speakers with Rockford Fosgate R1675X2 (the factory are 2 Ohm). With the AI NSB710 mounting brackets and the Metra 72-7401 wiring adapters they fit right in (using the factory holes and cabling. No cutting). I found enough guides on youtube of how to remove the door panels but it still took me half a day. Since i had access to the inside of the doors, I added some Scosche Accumat HyperFlex Speaker Kit Damping Material that i cut in strips.

What factory items are integrated: FM antenna, SiriusXM antenna, USB port, steering wheel controls and rear view camera.
What is not: The factory microphone. I could not find a good way to use the factory unit without gutting half of the car or using a weird re-pinning I found in another post.

So here is the list: