12-v battery charge warning light

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minecraft00z

Hello everyone.

I'm new to electric cars and cars in general. Recently, by the virtue of chance, I became the owner of a 2015, 24 kW/h Leaf.
Unfortunately, after the purchase, while I was busy with all the paperwork and other bureaucratic issues, it sat in a garage unplugged for a month or so.

Once I finally carved out some time for my new purchase, I happily jumped in, pushed the "Power" button, and was greeted with the "The key is not recognized" message. The keyfob battery was dead, so I replaced it, tried again - it turned on successfully.

Then I noticed that the red 12-v battery charge warning light was on. Since the car still had its original 12-v battery I figured that it's probably time to replace it too. So I went ahead and bought a fresh new 12-v battery and swapped it with the old one.

After that, the car was fully functional and ready to be driven except that the 12-v battery indicator still was showing up when the car was in the "ON" mode. When I switched to the "Ready to DRIVE" mode it disappeared, but still was illuminating when in the "ON" mode.
I measured the voltage on the 12-v battery - it read around 12.63-12.64V which seems like within the normal range.

THE PROBLEM (TLDR)
I can't figure out why that 12-v battery charge warning light illuminates only in "ON" position. The 12-v battery is good, the main traction battery was charged up to 100%, the keyfob is fine, what can be causing that?

Maybe the car still thinks that it has the old battery and that error is just "stuck"? How do I "clear" it, if so?
If you have any ideas, please help me out here, I'm completely new to this and have a lot to learn.
Thanks!

ZSIn43.png