Use of 110V trickle charger : Not recommended?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DahLeaf

I just got my Leaf and am excited! It's such a kool car to drive!

So, I have charging station at work and can charge easily. I am thinking just use the trickle charger at home to bring up the battery over night. Once i get to work, i can easily recharge the battery after lunch.

But I read the document that came with the trickle charger in the car that it's not recommended to use it all the time????? really???

I was wondering if i can get away with just using the trickle charger at home w/o putting money in for a L2 charger at home...

thoughts?

I am new to the Leaf thing but from what I have read it doesn't hurt it any to use the stock charger on 120V it just takes longer to charge. I don't plan on putting in a 240 unless something changes to where I need it.

if you leave it plugged in all the time and have good wiring it's ok it use it all you want but 120V is less efficient (costs more per charge) than charging on 240V.

Unplugging / replugging = wear and possible fire risk
poor wiring in the socket/behind the wall/in the circuit breaker = possible fire risk
sharing a 120V curcuit with things other than the car can be an issue (tripping breakers, fire risk)
120V not as good as 240V

assuming those aren't issues for you go ahead and leave it plugged into the wall day and night and just connect to the car when needed.

If they are a concern have an electrician check everything and then decide if you want to use eveseupgrade.com or not.

It's just like leaving a space heater on high for 12-14 hours. So, non-zero risk, but that's why homes are built to code and we have breakers. There's nothing wrong with it. You'll get antsy soon and install a 240-volt EVSE anyway. I wasn't planning on installing one either. haha