Failure to Understand Macro-issues for Recharging Networks

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GAW

I am a civil engineer/transportation planner with some thoughts on promoting a major development of PRACTICAL recharging infrastucture. I would like to establish communication with like-minded people who might be receptive to the ideas presented as follows.
Most travel involves home-to-work home-to-school trips, etc. So the simplificatin and cost-reduction of the at-home charge location is primary, and the type of work such as accomplished by Phil Sadow hits that nail on the head. But there is the need to recharge at the 'remote' (from the home) location. The initial focus needs to be at the workplace. That is the "low-hanging fruit"
The presently proposed schemes of recharge "stations" and battery changeout facilities are costly non-starters. They would be inconvenient, costly and impracatical. Recharge stations have been manufactured by some major companies, and would involve a pedestal with current-measuring and payment-collection to provide high voltage/fast charge capabilities. The impracticalities are very high cost per unit, lack of ready utility connections for over 220v, and need for elaborate safety interlocks for over 220v. Even with Level 3 charge, the wait time would be at least a half hour or so, and the limited rage of the vehicles would thus require up to a cumulative hour wait-time equivalent compared to a single fill-up time of 5 min. for liquid fueling. Vehicle turnover would be a problem. The driver would not stand by for a half-hour wait, but would walk away to the local Starbucks, leaving the 'station' blocked from access by subsequent users.