What to ask for

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nateads

I'm a LEAF newbie. My other vehicle is a 2017 Hyundai IONIQ BEV so I wanted to try and stay all battery electric and the LEAF seems to be a good option.

I'm picking up a 2015 SV. Can anyone point me in the right direction to find out what the latest firmware for the car should be and latest map version? The car is in Ontario Canada.

I would like to put in a request with the dealer to update both if needed.

I asked about the firmware and was told it's up to date but I trust car dealers as much as I trust a tooth pick to hold up my homes roof.

Any info in the two items would be great.

There is no battery firmware update needed, AFAIK. As far as the map goes...don't bother. If they have even updated it so soon it still isn't a good Nav system.

nateads said:
2015 SV. Can anyone point me in the right direction to find out what the latest firmware for the car

The only thing I can think of that should be checked is the car's cell phone modem or TCU. There is limited functionality, the car can update the map of charging stations, Google_send_to_car can send a destination, you can do a Google search for a destination, remote charging and remote climate control.

In the USA, the early cars had 2G networking. As the 2G network was phased out, the TCU needed to be updated to work with 3G. However, the new 3G modems would hang and otherwise misbehave, and someone would need to pull and replace the audio fuse to restore proper functionality. There was a recent update to these modems that seems to have improved this issue. I think it was TSB NTB18-045

However, I don't know if this applies to Canada.

@nateads I don't know if it will work for a Canadian VIN, but worth a shot:

https://www.nissanusa.com/recalls-vin/#/#/Home