Newbie Here!! Looking at Buying a 2015

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Perseycat

Hey so I’m new to this forum and joined because I want to purchase a used Nissan Leaf. Trying to get all the info I can on which year to buy and what the expected miles per charge would be. Thinking about a 2015. Anyone own this year? Can you tell me what type of range you get per charge? Also I live in Portland and might decide to venture to the beach every now and again...maybe there’s someone who lives in Portland and has experience with this? :D

The 2015 Leaf has the best battery made by Nissan. You need LeafSpy and a compatible ODBII diagnostic port reader to determine actual battery capacity, but a car showing a full 12 capacity "bars" (the little ones next to the charge level bars) and that hasn't been tampered with to hide capacity loss, should be able to go at least 60 miles on the highway at 60MPH, more at lower speeds in mild weather. That number depends on many factors, especially speed and if the climate control is off, providing A/C, or providing heat. It also depends on whether the car is an S, with its power-sucking heater, or an SV/SL with a better heat pump-assisted system.

I strongly recommend an SV or SL for your climate because the heat pump system is much more efficient than the resistance heater only in the S. The resistance heater is only activated in an SV or SL when temperatures get colder than you typically have in Portland while the S must use it for all heating and defrosting (since that is all it has).