Used 2012 Leaf - Level 2 charging

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WyrTwister

Just purchased it Saturday . Looking to be delivered ( from another city ) Monday or Tuesday .

Does that model year have the 3 something kw charger or the 6 something kw charger ?

Trying to decide what amperage EVSE to buy ?

I am a semi - retired electrician , so installing a new 240 VAC circuit is not a big deal for me .

Considering a # 8/2W/G & 40 amp circuit breaker install . And an EVSE with a N-14-50P cord . I read some RV parks have that receptacle .

God bless
Wyr

The NEMA 14-50 receptacle is a good choice for now and in the future. I suggest you run No. 6 wire so that you could replace the 40-ampere breaker with a 50-ampere breaker in the future if you ever need the full capability of the 50-ampere receptacle. Most L2 EVSEs use the two hot lines and ground (no neutral) so you could use a 6-50 receptacle, but the 14-50 with all 4 wires is more common since that is what RV parks have.

Your 2012 has the 3.3 kW onboard charger which will draw a little under 4 kVA (or kW since power factor is about 1.0 during most charging conditions) from the wall at 240 or 208 volts. A 30-ampere or 32-ampere EVSE (40-ampere circuit) is a good choice since it is enough to let a newer LEAF charge at the full rate of the 6 kW charger in case you ever get a newer car.

Gerry

WyrTwister said:
Just purchased it Saturday . Looking to be delivered ( from another city ) Monday or Tuesday .

Does that model year have the 3 something kw charger or the 6 something kw charger ?

Trying to decide what amperage EVSE to buy ?

I am a semi - retired electrician , so installing a new 240 VAC circuit is not a big deal for me .

Considering a # 8/2W/G & 40 amp circuit breaker install . And an EVSE with a N-14-50P cord . I read some RV parks have that receptacle .

God bless
Wyr