Ideal Charger Timer settings both 1 & 2 ??

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sondy132001

I'm new to Nissan Leaf, getting better each day ! I am having problems with my Charging Timers, both 1 & 2, I wasn't sure how to set them, I went to a charging station by my work to check it out and, try using it so I wouldn't have problems when I really needed it.

I sat there for 20 mins, I got a message saying charging was complete and I unhooked. well nothing charged, so why I sat there for 20 mins is beyond me, when it clearly stated on the station I was "Charging".

I called EVConnect they said my timers could be off or not set right ?? So I read through my manual and also searched here (couldn't find too much). I re-set my timers and tried setting them myself, hopefully this would be better. Well I plugged in my car last night when I got home last night, 6pm and went out to my car this morning at 7:30 and I was at 37, usually I'm at 67, my round trip to work is less than 40 miles.

I have two or three questions, how do I know my timers are off?

Is leaving my timers blank better ?

What are the ideal settings for my timers, both #1 & #2 ??

Any help would be so appreciative. I have the Level 1 Trickle Charger at home. at work we have the Level 2's.

Sondra

Each timer has setting for days of the week.
Each Day of the week will show either Timer 1, Timer 2, or OFF.

Timers can have Start Time, or End Time, or both.

If you want Timer to cause charging to start immediately when you plug in, make Start and End time the same.
Also possible to push Timer override button to do that. But override charges to 100%.
With Timer on 2012 you can choose 80%.

Best settings depends on your schedule and whether you have time of day electric rates.
A lot of people set only end time around when they need to leave. (or towards end of low cost power rate)