Best charging strategy?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bguisti

I know there's a ton of threads on this topic, but I still have some questions regarding my personal situation.

Driving from home to work uses about 65% of my charge. I plug in to a level 2 charger in an above ground parking garage. Should I wait a while for the battery to cool before starting to charge? Is the rising ambient temperature likely to negate the benefits of waiting? I leave home with 80% charge and arrive at about 15% charge, so is it more important to plug it in immediately to raise the low SOC? Would it be better to leave home at 95% so I could arrive with 30%? Is it important to have it off the charger for a while before driving?

Thanks for the help.

I'll take a stab at this, even though I'm no expert.

First, it would help to know what part of the country you're in, which is displayed below your name if and when you add it to your profile. Also, add what model year LEAF you have, perhaps in your signature or the question itself, because that sometimes makes a difference in "best practices". Below I assume you have a 2014 or '15, although you could be a new member who bought a used 2011, '12 or '13.

Then, unless you're in a very hot climate (esp. with an 2011-14 model year), I think you're over-thinking and over-worrying about the heat issue. Level 2, even at 30 amps, should pose no heat problems to the battery or on-board charger. Worrying about leaving home with 80 or 95% is equally and essentially inconsequential. That being said, if charging is free at work, I'd leave home with 80% and at work I'd time it to hit 100% full just before I was scheduled to leave each day. (Why not maximize their contribution? :))