S or SV, which to choose?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AthLeaf

Hey everybody, Todd here from Athens, Ga. My wife & I have started actively looking at Leaf's to replace her Prius. I've been reading this forum for a few days now and decided to join. The excellent information here has helped me figure a tons of stuff out, however I've still got questions. A good starting point is: S or SV?

We live in a small college town. She's a college professor and I'm a therapist in the county mental health/substance abuse clinic. When we carpool, our combined commute is about 30 miles per day. We are seriously considering the S mode. The price of the S is very appealing, and we aren't particularly attracted to any of the features of the SV. It seems that the only key differences between the two that could matter for us might be the following:

The 6.6 charger (which we can get via the charging package on the S)
The B-Regenerative system. (Whats up with this? Do we need it?)

In sum, is the S a good way to go, or are we really missing out without the SV? If we go S, should we get the charger package, or is the basic model ok?

Thanks in advance,

Todd

Since GA does get cold enough for snow/ice (as the storm that paralyzed Atlanta proved) the hybrid heater of the SV and SL can make a difference in range. At such temperatures, the resistive-style heater of the S does sap the battery (along with the cold), though if you only plan on driving the car for 30 miles per day, it may not be an issue.

Having the optional QC port will allow you to get to Atlanta and back with your Leaf, and PlugShare shows several of them in the Atlanta area.