Turbo3
Gold Member
Posts: 2011
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:34 pm
Delivery Date: 12 May 2011
Leaf Number: 002191
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Leaf Spy and Leaf Spy Pro

Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:42 am

jaimev wrote:
jaimev wrote:
Turbo3 wrote:...Try going to high beams, turning on rear defroster and changing the set temperature higher or lower.
Strange....this morning with headlights on (but not on high) and heater set at 90 and fan at maximum, I saw no movement of the Aux/Htr/AC bars or values over a 3 minute period; app was cycling normally. At the same time, the Energy Info display on the center console showed the Climate Control subsystem using close to 3Kw.

I just tried it now...1 minute with heater on high plus high beams on. Climate control gauge showing between 3 and 4.5 Kw of use. No change in Aux/Htr/AC bars
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/574 ... 250516.txt" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/574674/ERRdata.txt" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
2011 model year.
You need to have Logging enabled. Bug #3

The place where I put the new read commands is skipped if logging is not enabled and all my tests had logging enabled so I did not catch the bug.

New version later today to fix this and the other problem.

After thinking about it I now realize what happened. Reading the energy usage data was originally put in to support the up coming Hackathon and was only designed to be saved to the Log file that would be used by the Hackathon.

Later while trying to determine the units of each reading I decided it would be easier if I could see the reading real time so I modified the battery graphic to show them forgetting that they were only read while logging.

jaimev
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 11:08 pm
Delivery Date: 15 Oct 2011
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: Leaf Spy and Leaf Spy Pro

Thu Mar 27, 2014 1:01 pm

Turbo3 wrote:The place where I put the new read commands is skipped if logging is not enabled and all my tests had logging enabled so I did not catch the bug.
I'm glad that was a simple bug to fix. :)

Regarding the experimental Motor Power and Accelerator screen...
Turbo3 wrote:... To get real motor power the app needs motor voltage which means a different filter is used and that new filter does not allow seeing the brake/regen frames so no red/green bars while monitoring motor power. iOS version will not have this problem. (In the previous test version I was just displaying motor Amps which can be gotten along with Brake/regen frames.)
I mentioned previously that this had become my screen of choice, 95% of the time, when driving the Leaf. It was nice seeing the red/green bars (in v0.29.20) while braking - it was a good aid in learning how quickly one could decelerate while still regenerating power, and not have the mechanical brake kick in. While cruising, I also found the motor amp plot interesting to look at, as it slowly rolled out over time.

With 0.29.21, although the real power motor power is displayed, I find I really miss the red/green bars. I know I can switch to the alternate Braking screen and get them there. But when cruising. the red/green braking historical plots are (imho) not really interesting to look at because they're static and they're concatenations of disjointed braking episodes which don't have much meaning to me as I drive down the road.

In my ideal world, I'd love to have the old Motor Amp and Accelerator screen restored as a 3rd choice of available experimental screen.

Finally, I noticed that the Settings->Braking->Change Window Size value still only effects the Braking screen, and not the Motor Power And Accelerator screen. Was this by choice? Was there a reason that the Motor Power screen history is not similarly adjustable, or perhaps tied to the same setting?

Oh, and I forgot to mention that I turned ELM trace on when I view the Motor Power and Accelerator screen back in 0.29.20. I found that it significantly reduced the number of times the app hanged for me when viewing those experimental screens.

crabasa
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:33 pm
Delivery Date: 20 Feb 2014
Leaf Number: 411773
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact: Website

Re: Leaf Spy and Leaf Spy Pro

Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:37 pm

I apologize if this has been answered, but can anyone explain the discrepancy between "kWh remaining" and "Wh used" in Leaf Spy?

For instance, today I recorded some data about my commute and noticed this:

Code: Select all

kWh remaining    Wh used
19.7             0
13.3             5927
That's 6400-ish Wh on the left and 5927 on the right. I've also noticed a similar discrepancy in other Leaf Spy datasets.

I guess what I really want to know is: which number is more accurate in terms of energy usage?

--Carter
2013 Silver Leaf SV
QC/LED + Premium Package
24/12k Lease
http://carter.rabasa.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Turbo3
Gold Member
Posts: 2011
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:34 pm
Delivery Date: 12 May 2011
Leaf Number: 002191
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Leaf Spy and Leaf Spy Pro

Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:53 pm

crabasa wrote:I apologize if this has been answered, but can anyone explain the discrepancy between "kWh remaining" and "Wh used" in Leaf Spy?

For instance, today I recorded some data about my commute and noticed this:

Code: Select all

kWh remaining    Wh used
19.7             0
13.3             5927
That's 6400-ish Wh on the left and 5927 on the right. I've also noticed a similar discrepancy in other Leaf Spy datasets.

I guess what I really want to know is: which number is more accurate in terms of energy usage?

--Carter
The numbers come from two different places.

The kWh remaining is based on Gids read from the Leaf times Wh/Gid set on the Settings/Battery panel. Default is 77.5 Wh/Gid. This is the best estimate of remaining energy. However you can adjust the Wh/Gid number up or down if you feel the number is not correct for you situation.

The Wh used is calculated based on SOC from Leaf and Ahr from Leaf. This gives a rough estimate of energy used. This is an estimate only. If the battery warms up and the Leaf Battery Controller thinks the battery has more available energy it would look like regen is happening. If the the battery gets cooler the Battery Controller might lower the available energy which would look like the motor used more kw. So the kw used number can change without the Leaf moving at all. It can go up or down when you think it should do the opposite (at least for short periods).

Turbo3
Gold Member
Posts: 2011
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:34 pm
Delivery Date: 12 May 2011
Leaf Number: 002191
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Leaf Spy and Leaf Spy Pro

Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:01 am

Just uploaded 0.29.22 to Google Playstore for the Tester Group. Give it 90 minutes to show up for download.

Should fix all current problems.

New feature is Change Log and Application Help. Go the the About screen to access them. The Change Log lists everything that is new in 0.29.22 but only a few of the previous changes in 0.29.21. In time I will update the older change list.

The Help is just starting and I am still working on some of the formatting controls (trying to add line drawing). So there is only a tiny amount of information there right now. Much more to come over time. I would like to have answers to all the questions people have asked included in the Help file but that will take time to do.

Only use the back key to exit the Help and Change Log screens (i.e. don't press the Setting button to exit). It will take a second for these screens to go away and be replaced with the Leaf Spy screen so just wait for it to change back.

Turbo3
Gold Member
Posts: 2011
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:34 pm
Delivery Date: 12 May 2011
Leaf Number: 002191
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Leaf Spy and Leaf Spy Pro

Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:05 am

jaimev wrote:
Turbo3 wrote:The place where I put the new read commands is skipped if logging is not enabled and all my tests had logging enabled so I did not catch the bug.
I'm glad that was a simple bug to fix. :)

Regarding the experimental Motor Power and Accelerator screen...
Turbo3 wrote:... To get real motor power the app needs motor voltage which means a different filter is used and that new filter does not allow seeing the brake/regen frames so no red/green bars while monitoring motor power. iOS version will not have this problem. (In the previous test version I was just displaying motor Amps which can be gotten along with Brake/regen frames.)
I mentioned previously that this had become my screen of choice, 95% of the time, when driving the Leaf. It was nice seeing the red/green bars (in v0.29.20) while braking - it was a good aid in learning how quickly one could decelerate while still regenerating power, and not have the mechanical brake kick in. While cruising, I also found the motor amp plot interesting to look at, as it slowly rolled out over time.

With 0.29.21, although the real power motor power is displayed, I find I really miss the red/green bars. I know I can switch to the alternate Braking screen and get them there. But when cruising. the red/green braking historical plots are (imho) not really interesting to look at because they're static and they're concatenations of disjointed braking episodes which don't have much meaning to me as I drive down the road.

In my ideal world, I'd love to have the old Motor Amp and Accelerator screen restored as a 3rd choice of available experimental screen.

Finally, I noticed that the Settings->Braking->Change Window Size value still only effects the Braking screen, and not the Motor Power And Accelerator screen. Was this by choice? Was there a reason that the Motor Power screen history is not similarly adjustable, or perhaps tied to the same setting?

Oh, and I forgot to mention that I turned ELM trace on when I view the Motor Power and Accelerator screen back in 0.29.20. I found that it significantly reduced the number of times the app hanged for me when viewing those experimental screens.
I too am not happy about the Brake screen graph. I might just replace it with the Motor Amps with the brake/regen bar at the top and the second screen would be the Motor kW with Accelerator Blue bar on top.

Turbo3
Gold Member
Posts: 2011
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:34 pm
Delivery Date: 12 May 2011
Leaf Number: 002191
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Leaf Spy and Leaf Spy Pro

Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:32 am

For those with 2013 or later Leafs the current app does not work with the new message format Nissan switched to. I will be updating the app to handle the new message format tomorrow (Friday) with a release later in the day.

This applies to the new Energy Use display and perhaps a few other places. I will know more when I review the complete trace Kevin sent me.

xado1
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:25 am
Delivery Date: 01 Oct 2013
Leaf Number: 003833
Location: Vienna/Austria

Re: Leaf Spy and Leaf Spy Pro

Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:33 am

the new bars for aux,htr,and ac are not working.i wait for the download
2013 Leaf Tekna(SL) ,white,no solar,winter package,built in Sunderland-GB 8/2013

jaimev
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 11:08 pm
Delivery Date: 15 Oct 2011
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: Leaf Spy and Leaf Spy Pro

Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:53 pm

Turbo3 wrote:Just uploaded 0.29.22 to Google Playstore for the Tester Group.
Digging the new motor power/regen bars in the Energy use bar graph. Nice! And I appreciate the Change History and Application Help screens.

Turbo3
Gold Member
Posts: 2011
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:34 pm
Delivery Date: 12 May 2011
Leaf Number: 002191
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Leaf Spy and Leaf Spy Pro

Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:56 pm

jaimev wrote:
Turbo3 wrote:Just uploaded 0.29.22 to Google Playstore for the Tester Group.
Digging the new motor power/regen bars in the Energy use bar graph. Nice! And I appreciate the Change History and Application Help screens.
Thanks. I am waiting for an ELM trace of a charge from a 2013/2014 Leaf to see if I can get the EVSE pilot status working on 2013 on up Leafs.

0.29.23 has the fix to display Energy Use for 2013 on up Leafs and the Help file is updated with a "Recent Changes" section that covers the new Energy Usage with a nice graphic on where to tap for newbies. Just waiting for the 2013/14 charge trace before releasing it.

The change history is great for me so I can see what I have changed.

Return to “LEAF CANBus”