Charging My 2016 Leaf With Solar

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brucevan

I love my 2016 Leaf and use both Levels I and II grid charging at home.

I am thinking of getting an 8-panel off-grid solar system with charge controller for two (or more) 200AH Deep Cycle batteries and a 1,000 watt (or 2,000 watt) Off-Grid Pure-Sine Wave Battery inverter.

I would like to, at least occasionally, partially charge my Leaf with Level I charging from the inverter in the above-described solar system.

I would appreciate it if any who are knowledgeable on charging a Leaf with solar could comment. Thanks!

I don't have any first hand experience with it, but it is possible to set up an OpenEVSE to charge only when solar is available.
I'm still learning the tricks to the commands through the WiFi in the OpenEVSE.

There's also a combination EVSE/solar inverter manufactured by SolarEdge.

You're not going to charge very quickly at 1-2kWh. 1.1kWh is all you get out of the stock EVSE 120V@12A.

The stock Nissan 120-volt EVSE allows the car to draw 12 amperes so you will need an inverter rated at least 1500 watts continuous (2000 watts would be better to provide some reserve and avoid running the electronics at 100% current). You will also need to have the neutral of the inverter grounded for the EVSE to allow charging (most inverters and portable generators have neutral floating instead of solidly grounded so a temporary grounding jumper is needed). There are several threads regarding charging from portable generators that explain this issue.

Thanks Tsiah and GerryAZ.

This is what I'm going to try: Renogy 500 Watt 12 Volt Solar Premium Kit (includes 40 amp Charge Controller), 2 X Renogy Deep Cycle AGM Batteries 12 Volt 100Ah, and a Renogy 2000W 12V Off-Grid Pure-Sine Wave Battery Inverter w/ Cables.

I will be sure the inverter neutral is grounded.