Page 2 of 4

Re: Help hooking up an evseupgrade L6-30 Receptacle and Brea

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 4:33 pm
by Lasareath
Thanks for the below tips, they will help. I try to research as much as possible, get the things I need and run it by my neighbor, he is a really nice guy and will do everything for me and I'd rather just use him for the things I'm not sure of. He will tell me if I'm doing something wrong.

Here is another project he helped me with almost two years ago and the house is still standing (knock on wood!!!). LOL


http://forum.polkaudio.com/discussion/c ... nt_1717848


Sal



drees wrote:
Guidelines for a professional install (not necessarily complete!):

0. Pull permit from local jurisdiction.
1. The L6-30 receptacle you linked to is fine. I would mount it in a metal box with metal faceplate. I would personally use a 4x4 box for the extra room.
2. You should be using 10 GA wire for a 30A circuit. You can use NM-B (aka romex) which you can get with 2 HOTs and a ground. It will be called "10-2 NM-B". The 10 is the wire gauge, 2 is number of current carrying conductors. It will have an appropriately sized ground (10 GA in this case). Note that if the romex will not be covered by drywall, you can not use it. Romex is only rated for use where people are not able to touch it. In which cause you must use conduit and individually stranded wire.
3. Make sure your metal box is grounded.
4. You will need a double pole 30A circuit breaker appropriate for your panel. I hope it goes without saying that you should cut power to the panel before working on it!
5. Get work inspected by your local inspector.

Re: Help hooking up an evseupgrade L6-30 Receptacle and Brea

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:37 pm
by Lasareath
How would you Ground the metal box?

Wouldn't it be better to buy a spool of 10/3 NMB romex, so then I'll have an extra conductor that can be used to ground the metal box?

drees wrote:3. Make sure your metal box is grounded.

Re: Help hooking up an evseupgrade L6-30 Receptacle and Brea

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 10:38 am
by drees
Lasareath wrote:How would you Ground the metal box?

With a grounding screw or lug and the ground wire.

Lasareath wrote:Wouldn't it be better to buy a spool of 10/3 NMB romex, so then I'll have an extra conductor that can be used to ground the metal box?

No. The neutral wire should never be used as a ground.

Re: Help hooking up an evseupgrade L6-30 Receptacle and Brea

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:06 am
by joewaters
I tend to ground metal boxes by screwing the receptacle into it. The ground connector on the receptacle is also tied to the frame (metal portion) of the receptacle. Drees, wouldn't you agree?

Re: Help hooking up an evseupgrade L6-30 Receptacle and Brea

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:11 pm
by Lasareath
So I actually don't need to perform any additional steps because out of the 3 conductors one is a ground wire and if I have a metal box then the receptacle will ground the metal box when the receptacle is screwed down?

Is that correct?




drees wrote:
Lasareath wrote:How would you Ground the metal box?

With a grounding screw or lug and the ground wire.

Lasareath wrote:Wouldn't it be better to buy a spool of 10/3 NMB romex, so then I'll have an extra conductor that can be used to ground the metal box?

No. The neutral wire should never be used as a ground.

Re: Help hooking up an evseupgrade L6-30 Receptacle and Brea

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 5:33 pm
by planet4ever
Lasareath wrote:So I actually don't need to perform any additional steps because out of the 3 conductors one is a ground wire and if I have a metal box then the receptacle will ground the metal box when the receptacle is screwed down?
As drees said,
drees wrote:It will be called "10-2 NM-B". The 10 is the wire gauge, 2 is number of current carrying conductors. It will have an appropriately sized ground (10 GA in this case).
In other words, 10-2 has two wires encased in insulating plastic, plus a third bare wire, which is the ground.

I am still concerned about this statement you made:
Lasareath wrote:Their main panel is in the garage right next to the garage door and I'll only need a few feet of cable.
As drees also said, "romex" can only be used where it is covered, and garages often have exposed studs on the walls. Will the romex be covered by drywall? If not, you should use some sort of conduit. I would probably use LiquidTite for a short run. And if you do that, you can run individual wires through it instead of using romex.

Ray

Re: Help hooking up an evseupgrade L6-30 Receptacle and Brea

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 6:42 pm
by Lasareath
No concern needed. The garages in NJ must use sheetrock by code. My gang box will be mounted recessed into the sheetrock. I'm in IT for 25 years. I run CAT6, Coax, HMDI, Stereo cables for a living. I have the tools, knowledge and experience to run the 12' of 10/2 wire in the wall hidden away behind sheetrock.

I will post all steps of this procedure in this thread. Most likely I will begin around 1/15/14

Thanks!



planet4ever wrote:
I am still concerned about this statement you made:
Lasareath wrote:Their main panel is in the garage right next to the garage door and I'll only need a few feet of cable.
As drees also said, "romex" can only be used where it is covered, and garages often have exposed studs on the walls. Will the romex be covered by drywall? If not, you should use some sort of conduit. I would probably use LiquidTite for a short run. And if you do that, you can run individual wires through it instead of using romex.

Ray

Re: Help hooking up an evseupgrade L6-30 Receptacle and Brea

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 12:34 pm
by drees
joewaters wrote:I tend to ground metal boxes by screwing the receptacle into it. The ground connector on the receptacle is also tied to the frame (metal portion) of the receptacle. Drees, wouldn't you agree?

No, that is not sufficient.

Just Google "proper ground metal box" images and you'll see a dozen examples of proper grounding.

Re: Help hooking up an evseupgrade L6-30 Receptacle and Brea

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 1:52 pm
by Lasareath
I've grounded metal gang boxes before as shown in these first two pictures, I've never used those rigid conduit ground clips shown on the last picture;

Screen Shot 2013-12-28 at 3.42.49 PM.png


Image

http://www.drillspot.com/products/68369 ... ng_bushing

Image




drees wrote:
joewaters wrote:I tend to ground metal boxes by screwing the receptacle into it. The ground connector on the receptacle is also tied to the frame (metal portion) of the receptacle. Drees, wouldn't you agree?

No, that is not sufficient.

Just Google "proper ground metal box" images and you'll see a dozen examples of proper grounding.

Re: Help hooking up an evseupgrade L6-30 Receptacle and Brea

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 2:03 pm
by Lasareath
The UPS guy just dropped this off :)

Image

Image