Carwings "Send to Car" and GeoRSS Feeds

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kdouglas

Hi All,

First time posting on the forum, but I've been reading for quite a bit, I've been a LEAF driver for about 4 months now and I live in Ireland.

Some background info;
In Google Maps, the "Send to Car" feature doesn't seem to work very well outside of North America and in Ireland, it's not even an option for us to use (it doesn't appear in Google maps at all).

With this in mind, I've been working on a way to get as close as possible to this functionality of "Send to Car" but the documentation around Carwings is quite lacking in detail.

I've registered with the japanese carwings site at (http://lab.nissan-carwings.com/CWL/) and from this, I've found it's possible to use GeoRSS points in an RSS feed which you can then add to the Leaf's navigation system. Additionally, our charge point network in Ireland is available as a .kml file, so I've put together some instructions for drivers on how to plot a route in Google Maps (with the charge network overlayed), download the KML file of the route, convert to GeoRSS, and then add that route to the Leaf's navigation system. (See http://www.irishevowners.com/ecars-google-maps-planning-your-trip/)

This works, but requires a few more manual steps than I'd like, so what I'm trying to figure out is how to generate an RSS feed which you can add to Carwings and be able to add the destination and all waypoints in one go (currently, you have to open the feed and add each point as a waypoint manually)

I've experimented a bit with GeoRSS and can't find a way to get multiple locations to feed in as waypoints to the Leaf. So what I'm wondering is, does anyone know how Google's Send To Car feature, or the Carwings Route Planner, actually get's the Leaf to read waypoints as part of a route and download a full route in one go?