Removing inner floor trim

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lothsahn

I am trying to upgrade my leaf to add a backup camera. I've wired the back hatch harness and the harness that goes through the hatch door, but no dice. I now want to take off the trim along the floor so I can inspect the m21 plug, as it appears my Leaf doesn't have a camera compatible harness.

However, I've never worked on cars before and I'm having a helluva time with all the trim. In particular, the driver side inner floor trim must be taken out from front to back or it may be damaged. I can't get it to release and don't want to force it.

I'm going to the store to get some trim removal tools. I had previously been using a plastic spudger tool (used for phone screen repair). I suspect not having the right tool was the main problem.

Anyone else have any advice?

Bit late now... Just swapped half the harnesses between the cars. I've used the all around camera systems and really I just need the backup camera. I'm quite bad at backing up.

Lothsahn said:
Bit late now... Just swapped half the harnesses between the cars. I've used the all around camera systems and really I just need the backup camera. I'm quite bad at backing up.

In that case I suggest running a compatible cable along whichever side of the car is closer to the dash connections. Removing and replacing OEM trim and flooring is no picnic.

It really isn't. It's insane... To remove the rear pillar trim they want you to remove the rear seat.

All they had to do is not make the trim interfere with the seat, but it's like one complex Lego puzzle where everything interconnects so you have to pull it all out.

Dumb.