navi module broken - how much to fix/replace?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdsandler

Hi folks -
I'm a newbie, looking to buy my first leaf asap. Not sure whether this is the right area of the forum, but I have a question about a problem...

There's a 2012 leaf, 30k miles, at a small local used car dealer with a broken navigation console. When installed, it turns itself off and on constantly (every minute or so). The owner says that his son's friend who is an electric whiz has been promising to fix it for a month, knows what little part he needs, and can't find it or get Nissan to sell it to him, and has been just sort of sitting on it. He's mad at his son and wants to just get rid of the car with the navigation module still broken for what he has in it ($8200). It's listed for 10,900, and he says he's had people willing to buy at that price but hasn't been able to get the navigation module fixed and back in, and is just done at this point. This is not a dealer that usually sells leafs, and is not in a super EV-friendly area (rural, mountainous). He seems honest and gets good reviews -- I don't think he's telling me a tall tale.

I test drove the car, and it seems fine otherwise. A little brake noise, which they say is because it's been sitting for weeks and has rust on the rotors (which seems true -- it had literal cobwebs on the wheels). Clean carfax. One owner, just off lease (and just barely off full warranty, which is another reason the dealer says he's so frustrated).

This could be a great deal, or it could be a headache. How much is it to just put in a whole new navigation system if necessary? Would it actually be easy to fix if the right part could be found? Does it suggest there might be other problems?

Thanks so much