Low prices on older Leafs grabbed my attention, now what?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

theschoolbus

I've gotten through some of the basics and could use some help navigating to what you might think best matched my situation...

Some background... I've never owned an EV car. I'm an engineer, love data, am conscious about MPG and always want to reduce reoccurring expenses. Seems only natural for me to end up with EV, but hasn't happened yet. I have a coworker with a 2018 Leaf SL who has been my primary source of info (instigator). I've driven another co-worker's Teslas (1st and 2nd gen Model S). And I test drove an Audi eTron a couple weeks ago. That's the extent of my hands on experience.

As one reference, here's my mileage and fuel economy tracking over the past 18 years on a variety of vehicles:
http://ctny.audiworld.com/mark/s4/mileage/

Now for the flip side... I've almost exclusively owned forced induction (mostly turbo) vehicles and have modified them for performance reasons. Turbos work well to provide power when I want and economy when I don't. I've gone 11.7@122mph at the drag strip in the same car I drove 42k miles in a year. I value both. These have almost entirely been in the VW family. Currently my daily driver is an Audi A7 TDI which has plenty of torque and size, yet gets me a max of 38 MPG highway, good for ~700 miles on a tank. I drive 500 miles one-way a couple times a year and as I'm writing this I'm 500 miles from home about to go to bed and wake up at midnight to do that drive non-stop.