charging adapters...

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

finman100

Okay, so I'm still learning the lingo with the myriad of adapters for the plethora of outlets out there in the wild.

will this work at a campground outlet with my EVSE upgrade? I have a 120V 5-15 adapter cord (as well as a 14-50 adapter cord):

http://www.evseadapters.com/index.php?route=product/product&path=24&product_id=64" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I'd like to utilize the highest rate possible, but am unsure if the EVSE upgrade will work at 120V and 30 amps (i think that is the tt-30 spec?) I realize it says it's for the EVSE upgrade...but will this be a 12 amp charge? Does there exist an adapter such that I can get 20 amps from TT-30 to EVSE upgrade (the L6-30 twistlock)?

Thanks so much for all who can enlighten me!

Curt

http://www.stayonline.com/reference-nema-straight-blade.aspx" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I have the following.

nema 6-15, 6-50, 10-30, 10-50, 14-50, 5-15. These all adapt to the nema l6-30 plug on the evse upgrade unit. My particular one can only be programmed to 20 amps for 240 volts and 16 amps for 120. Normally it can be only progrmmed to 12 amps at 120, but I built a 5-20 to l6-30 adapter and evse upgrade gave me a code to program 16. Ive heard things about the unit can get another code to be able to program even higher currents at 240, but I never pursued it further. I got an older unit in exchange for the newer one I got with my 2013 when I sent it in for upgrading.. I know this because it forgets my programming whenever I unplug it. It's my understanding that these older units can't go over 20 anyway.