EVSE ready light blinking but outlet tests grounded ok

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rdriley

We have a gentleman with a Leaf at our facility. When he plugs into 120v outlet in ANY of the outlets in our parking garage, he gets the flashing light indicating the outlet is faulty. I am a qualified electrician of 30 years and have tested the outlets and ground and all are ok. He says that it works fine at home? He says none of the dash lights come on. Any thoughts???

Assuming the flashing fault light is on the box of the EVSE, the ground has been implicated in other similar situations.

Just re-read the title. Which light(s) is blinking on the dash? Likely though that this is a timer issue. Have him make sure his timer is off or set to go on at the time he is plugging in.

Didn't Phil report that the EVSE tests the ground by passing a very small amount of current through it? If so, a questionable ground connection that tests good with a simple tester might fail with the EVSE, no? It may seem like a silly question but has the gentleman tested his EVSE with any other outlets?

Sorry bout confusion. He says the light on the EVSE box blinks and none of the dash lights come on. I have tested the grounding with a megger. This is a 4 story parking structure and he is on the 4th floor, but 2 floors are underground so I'm sure everything is well grounded. Has me baffled

If you tested the ground to neutral with a megger that verifies continuity, perhaps the neutral and hot wires are swapped on the outlet? (not sure if that would cause the L1 to not function) Which light is flashing on his charging cord, the ready light or the fault light?
-Matt

I have been an electrician for 30 years and have tested the outlet. He says that it is the ready light that is flashing