Need a recommendation for an EVSE

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

leafer123

Hi
I am a new user of a 2015 Nissan Leaf, model S with QC.
I just installed a 240 V outlet with a 50 Amp circuit breaker, gauge 6 cables, and a NEMA 14-50 outlet in garage.
Given that, I went on Nissan Leaf Wiki, and searched for EVSEs compatible for my setup. There were only 2 listed, one by EV Pros (on sale at Amazon for $ 639) and a Leviton one (for $ 900 plus).

Are there other, more inexpensive options out there? I have heard of Open EVSEs, but I am not good at soldering. I can change a computer's RAM, Hard drive and something simple like that, but I am not skilled at soldering. I just want the fastest charging possible at home, given my electrical layout in my garage.

I am open to your recommendations. I am not sure if I should go on craigslist, or on homedepot.com or any other place. I am afraid I will get the wrong kind. Any help to a newbie would be sincerely appreciated. On this forum, I have found very useful advice, and am impressed with suggestions, and responses. If you know of a particular resource, and want to only reveal it to me, you can PM me.
Thanks in advance.

The For Sale forum on MNL sometimes has newly built OpenEVSE's for sale. If not, you might be able to commission one with the options you want from one of the regular builders. I paid 425 for mine from GlennD.

Clipper Creek has a good reputation, and it sells a unit with a 14-50 plug for $644: HCS-40P
I have a lower power Clipper Creek unit, and it's working great.

Home Depot offers the highly rated Schneider EVlink, but you'll need to add a plug to it if you want to use your 14-50 outlet. They are offering a $100 discount/coupon code, which makes it $499: Schneider EVlink
A friend installed one of these for his SL and he is very happy with it.

billg said: