First Time Leaser-Do I have room to negotiate in this deal?

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hilarybrogers

I've never done a lease before, only purchased. I just got a quote from a very helpful internet sales guy here in the Denver, Colorado area (Lakewood exactly). I'm not sure what all the details would be, but here's what he sent. I just want to make sure that you experienced lessors don't think I could do better.

It's a 2015 Nissan Leaf S, Optional equipment includes: Charge Package ($1,170) , Cargo Cover ($300), Splash Guards ($190), Floor Mats & Cargo Area Mat ($180) and he said he would do the tinting for $280

Price: $32,430
Dealer Discount and rebates: $11,960
Net after rebate: $20,470

$258/mo for 36 months for $0 down ($229 if we put $1000 down)
$240/mo for 48 months for $0 down ($219 if we put $1000 down)

I'm thinking the 36 months and $0 option, so is $258 (plus taxes and other fees) an ok price?

Thanks in advance!
Hilary

I have not leased but wonder if you are getting any sort of "deal" here -

Sticker price $32,430 - won't argue on this point it is what it is.
Dealer Discount and rebates - is this including the Colorado rebate? Take the 7500 federal rebate (assigned to lease company) and you have about $4460 left. I believe the CO rebate is around $3500 so take that out and you are now looking at a 'discount' of $960 or so. I'm not impressed if this is indeed the case - as I understand it, there should be some Nissan finance sponsored rebates in there as well...

I may be well off base - maybe that 4460 IS the Nissan finance rebate; in which case would you still qualify for the CO rebates and how much? Stick that on there (if indeed $3500 range) and you drop your "net after rebate" to around $17K which may well be decent.