62 kWh Battery Heater - Quest to Find It!

My Nissan Leaf Forum

Help Support My Nissan Leaf Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A long time since this topic was updated, but I do have an update. ;)

Dala made a great video about a 62 kWh repair where the video shows the inside of the 62 kWh in all it's glory. To no one's surprise, no physical battery heaters. But also to my surprise, nothing else that would facilitate any type of "external" heating system. Dala is confident and I have no reason to doubt his experience and expertise that just operating the Leaf is enough to produce the necessary waste heat to prevent cold battery damage.

That makes it easy for me to perform experiments for this. Simply cooling a Leaf battery down to ambient air temperature, just turn on the Leaf with nothing else running (climate control, lights, heaters, radio, etc.) and just have LeafSpy plot the battery temperature for hours and come back to check the results every so often to see if the battery temperature is rising or remaining the same.

Since it's still slightly above freezing temperatures where I am for the rest of the week, the battery is already cold-ish, but if I just drive my wife's Leaf in place of mine for a day or two, should be plenty of time for it to cool off for experiments! :cool:

I'll just drop in my two cents since we've investigated this a long time ago and came to unsurprising conclusions.

First, there simply isn't room anywhere or any mention in any variant of the service manuals of heating devices in the gen5 packs. It just doesn't exist.

Li-ion cells hover at around 1kJ/KgK specific heat, so say you want to get to a safe-ish 0C (at that point, the pack can safely accept and deliver more than 1C, i.e. motor power isn't limited anymore), with a 400kg pack and starting from -15C would take 6MJ or about 1.7kWh.